The Festival for awarding the USERN Prize

1.    Background

All around the world, thousands of scientists are making the best of their efforts to find solutions for the scientific problems in their field of specialty, in order to promote life situations and make the universe a more befitting host for all the living creatures.

Having the glory of an outstanding achievement in mind, it should not be forgotten that diligence in the path has an equal importance. Thinking on a world with the “sciences without borders”, which means the interdisciplinary sciences without any geographical borders, made us make something different in the world! We believe that our lives are too short, while once we learn something, we realize that we are enough old to do something; so, sharing experiences with talented juniors and encouraging them to continue the correct way on science might lead to a better world in the future.

Purposing on acknowledging junior scientists for all their efforts and achievements, and encouraging them to proceed with their goals, the Universal Scientific Education and Research Network (USERN) was established. The USERN Prize is to be awarded for the first time at the closing ceremony of 1st USERN congress. The operational plan has been briefly described in the following sessions.

2.    The History and Origin

The Universal Scientific Education and Research Network (USERN) has been inaugurated in 2015 as an independent organization with the main purpose of peaceful and humanitarian promotion of education and research, universally. It comprises of top 1% scientists in all 21 scientific fields as the advisory board members who would manage and supervise the educational and research programs in their field of specialty. The executive members in both educational and research programs would be loyal to ethical principles and put their efforts to direct the network for final goal of serving the humanity in all aspects. Designing the educational programs in different fields and levels, conducting research projects resulting in articles, books or patents as the main products, and providing an ethical scientific environment for scientists and researchers to work in would be included in the USERN operational content.

3.    USERN Prize Awarding Festival

USERN prize is an international award, established by the USERN, which would be annually bestowed to junior scientists or researchers less than 40 years of age for any novel advancement or achievement in scientific education, research, or serving the humanity in five scientific fields including Formal Sciences, Physical-Chemical Sciences, Biological Sciences, Medical Sciences, and Social Sciences.

The International Festivals for Awarding USERN prize have been held on November 10th and the prize was bestowed in the World Science Day for Peace and Development (November 10th). The host of the festivals were Tehran (Iran), Kharkov (Ukraine), Reggio Calabria (Italy), Budapest (Hungary), and Iran (Tehran) during 2016-2020.

4.    Objectives

5.    Organization

6.    Executive Calendar

7.    Awards

The 1st Prize Delegate "USERN Award" includes:

- 5,000$* award for Promoting Advancement of Scientific Knowledge in a responsible manner to address human needs and aspirations

- USERN Prize statuettes presented along with USERN Medal

- Special USERN gift

- Free registration to all scientific and social events during the Congress
- Post congress tour to Isfahan and Shiraz
- Prize Laureates will be offered Honorary Advisory Board membership of USERN, for 3 years, according to the USERN Statute
- USERN Laureates will be offered a one-week scientific visit by their own cost in a number of top institutes worldwide, which will be credited for 2022-2024 (should be discussed and arranged, if interested)

5,000$ USERN 2020 award includes:

- 3,000 USD, including 2,000 USD cash award during the USERN 2020 Festival (November 10th) and up to 1,000 USD Travel Grant to attend the USERN Congress 2021.
- 2,000 USD USERN Grant for the establishment of an active interest group in USERN, leasing to the promotion of your scientific work and scientific output, which could be awarded to you during one of the future USERN Congress 2022-2024.

8.    Application

The applicants should submit their applications for USERN Prize 2021 from January via the online application form.

9.    USERN Laureates


Floris De Lange (Netherlands) in Social Sciences | For: Expectation sharpens the visual response

Alexander Leemans (Belgium/Netherlands) in Medical Sciences | For: Processing and Visualization in Diffusion Imaging

Jamshid Aghaei (Iran) in Physical Sciences | For: Evaluating Technical Benefits and Risks of Renewable Energy Sources Increasing Penetration in Electrical Networks

Morteza Mahmoudi (Iran/USA) in Biological Sciences | For: Defining the Biological Identity of Nanotherapeutics for High Yield Cancer Therapy

Lucas Joppa (USA) in Formal Sciences | For: Technology for Nature


Matjaž Perc (Slovenia) in Social Sciences | For: Transitions Towards Cooperation in Human Societies

Lucina Qazi Uddin (USA) in Medical Sciences | For: Brain Dynamics and Flexible Behavior in Autism and Attention-Deficit/Hyperactivity

Maria-Magdalena Titirici (UK) in Physical Sciences | For: The Design of Efficient and Low Cost Electrocatalysts Catalysts Without the Use of Critical Metals

Valentina Cauda (Italy) in Biological Sciences | For: Hybrid Immune-Eluding Nanocrystals as Smart and Active Theranostic Weapons Against Cancer -TrojaNanoHorse

Manlio De Domenico (Spain) in Formal Sciences | For: Multilayer Structure and Dynamics of the Physical World: Modeling the Complexity of Systems of Systems


Igor Grossmann (Canada) in Social Sciences | For: Wisdom - Towards The Social and Behavioral Science of Sound Judgment

Gian Paolo Fadini (Italy) in Medical Sciences | For: ciRculating stEM cElls in DIAbetic complicaTIONs (REMEDIATION)

Xavier Moya (UK) in Physical Sciences | For: Barocaloric Materials for Environment-Friendly Solid -State Refrigeration

Alex Fornito (Australia) in Biological Sciences | For: Maps, Models, and Modifiers of Brain Changes in Psychosis

Jacob D Biamonte (Russia) in Formal Sciences | For: Quantum Enhanced Machine Learning


Benjamin Sovacool (Denmark/UK) in Social Sciences | For: Social justice in an era of climate change and energy scarcity

Eugenia Morselli (Chile) in Medical Sciences | For: Mechanisms of hypothalamic autophagy in obesity

Giulia Grancini (Switzerland/Italy) in Physical Sciences | For: Multidimensional ferroelectric hybrid perovskites for advanced optoelectronics

Ajeet Kaushik (USA) in Biological Sciences | For: Nano-bio-technology for personalized healthcare

Lucas Lacasa (UK) in Formal Sciences | For: Bridging Signal Processing and Network Science


Lianne Schamaal (Australia) in Social Sciences | for: A Global Alliance to Elucidate Neurobiological Signatures of Depression and Suicide

Mohammad Ali Shahbazi (Finland) in Medical Sciences | for: A Thermo-responsive Biopolymeric Microimplant for the Treatment of Autoimmune Disorders

Daniel Sauter (Germany) in Biological Sciences | for: Deciphering molecular determinants of coronavirus spread in the human population

Gregory Mark Allen Ashton (Australia) in Physical and Chemical Sciences | for: Black holes and neutron stars: enabling astrophysics with Bilb y

Dongrui Wu (China) in Formal Sciences | for: Signal Processing and Machine Learning for Calibration-free and Secure Brain-Computer Interfaces (BCIs)

For more information:

Prize 2021 Application Form